Summer Capsule Wardrobe 2015

summer 2015 wardrobe collage

I was planning on showcasing my summer capsule wardrobe in December, but Spring didn’t last as long as I thought it would and Summer is here to stay!  It just means I’ll be living with this capsule for a bit longer than 3 months (unless Autumn appears early).

I did consider just rolling out a few items at a time instead of  revealing my whole summer capsule wardrobe, but I thought this might be easier.  I’ll  have a new born in a few short weeks and something tells me that my wardrobe won’t be on the top of my list.

This time I have less pieces than in my Spring wardrobe.  There were quite a few items that went unworn, this time I hope to wear everything.  Let’s see how that goes.

Here is the wardrobe breakdown:

New items: 2

  • Black dockside maternity shorts
  • Cream maternity shorts

I originally didn’t want to buy anything for this wardrobe, but I realised that in this heat I would really need some shorts.  Plus, its not as if I will stop wearing maternity clothing over night.  These shorts are a life saver in this heat and I will wear them right up until Autumn.

Items rolled out from storage: 9

  • Grey skater skirt
  • Romper (yet to be worn)
  • Turquoise shirt (taken from my husband)
  • Navy shirt dress
  • Red faux wrap dress
  • Yellow denim jacket
  • Green blouse (from my sister)
  • Cream sandals
  • Maxi dress

These are all items I’ve worn before I created a capsule wardrobe.  Except for the romper, turquoise shirt and green blouse.  The romper is new but I bought it before I decided to try out capsule wardrobe. It isn’t maternity wear, but there is something funny with the sizing.  It is a (UK) size 8 but it fits me well at eight months pregnant.  The turquoise shirt is from my husbands and the green blouse is my sister’s.

Items brought over from the previous capsule: 24

  • Ivory cardigan
  • Bird vest
  • maternity cardigan
  • Black maternity dress
  • Black tee
  • Chevron skirt
  • Striped tee with lace insert
  • Three quarter sleeve striped top
  • Blue tee
  • Grey tee
  • White tee
  • Jeggings
  • Rust vest
  • Red striped tee
  • Tartan skirt
  • Magenta jacket
  • Olive trousers
  • Sneakers
  • Black flats
  • Gladiator wedges
  • Denim wedges
  • Black sandals
  • Clear sandals
  • Black and tan wedges
  • Cream sandals
  • Nude flats

Total: 35 items

8 thoughts on “Summer Capsule Wardrobe 2015

  1. You have some really pretty pieces & some great basics, too. My ‘spring’ capsule here never lasts long either. It gets hot before you’ve had the chance to enjoy the nice spring weather. Last year I ended up keeping most of my items from the spring capsule in the summer capsule and just adding a few new pieces, since the weather is just so similar for both seasons.

    I’m so excited for you and your coming little one!! I hope everything goes smoothly for you :).

    1. Aw thanks Sam! It’s not long now. I’ve been thinking of just combining spring and summer for next year’s capsule. Or at least roll things out piece by piece as it gets warmer. We don’t have much of an Autumn here either so I could try it out on my autumn/winter capsule

  2. I’ve always wanted to try a capsule wardrobe. You picked some great basics that you can mix and match and I love all of the colorful additions! Thank you for linking up with Thursday Fashion Files! I hope you come back next week!

    Jill
    Doused In Pink

Leave a Reply

