5 Piece French wardrobe

I learnt about the 5 Piece French Wardrobe from AJ.  Her post about how she had adopted this system is really good, I recommend you read it.

The idea behind this concept is to build a wardrobe out of good, quality basics and then splurge on five trendy items each season to keep your wardrobe and style up to date. This allows one to  evaluate what items your wardrobe is lacking, as well as having a coherent wardrobe.  (No more random pieces that don’t get worn because they were randomly selected and aren’t really your style.)

If you want a good example of a basic wardrobe to start from, then I suggest having a look at AJ’s post.

I have taken this concept and modified it to suit me a bit better.  I didn’t start of with the capsule wardrobe of basics.  I’ve basically kept my wardrobe as is and have only adopted the shopping strategy, which is: 5 new pieces per season (a season being Spring/Summer and Autumn/Winter) So that equals 10 pieces a year.

Now 5 new pieces per season might not seem like much to some. However, 5 pieces per season isn’t really only 5.  Here are the rules:

French wardrobe

  •  5 new trendy/fun pieces per season
  • Basics don’t count and you are allowed as many as you like (or as your bank account will allow).
  • Accessories don’t count.  (I however, count bags)
  • Shoes DO count.
  • Socks, undies, etc, don’t count.
  • Everything else counts.

So if you have a look at it like that, one can still shop till one drops.  But, it has made me think about what trendy (or non basic) pieces I buy.  I am a lot more picky, because I only have a limited amount of space left for them.

This is what I added to my wardrobe for the Spring/Summer season of 2014/2015:

 

Basics (always allowed):

  1. Black tee, with mesh detail.
  2. White lace tank top.
  3. Navy lace tank top.
  4. Grey skater skirt

The non basic items I added were:

  1. A pair of black flip flops
  2. A pair of transparent flip flops
  3. A pair of silver court heels
  4. A pair of leopard print heels
  5. A tan tote

Processed with Moldiv Processed with Moldiv

 

 

2 thoughts on “5 Piece French wardrobe

Leave a Reply

