Blogging Peer Pressure

garfield-fomo

I’ve found that there is can be quite a bit of (self imposed) pressure when it comes to blogging.  Especially when it comes to the fear of missing out (FOMO) on certain trends.  When I find a lot of bloggers wearing a certain item, it reinforces that this item is an ‘investment piece’ and if I wear it all the ways I’ve seen so far it will be such a versatile piece!  I forget that I have quite a few items in my wardrobe already, and some are quite neglected. It is easy to get caught up in items that look so good on other people.  Every now and then I try to remind myself that something else will come along that will replace that item I feel I am coveting, and the pressure I feel to buy it comes from myself.

The items that created major FOMO:

– Mint jeans

– leopard print anything

– Black and white stripes (I fell for that one)

– Aztec print skirts

– hounds-tooth ( I bought a pair of shorts and have worn them once)

I’ve managed to stick to my list with one or two lapses, which have turned out not to be a train smash. But I find ways to sneak those coveted items onto my list without proper reason.  I’m not saying that I don’t want to or shouldn’t follow trends. Trends can be fun and there is nothing wrong with wanting a certain item of clothing.  It is the self imposed pressure of NEEDING it. I don’t NEED clothes, I’m one of the lucky ones.

So the moral of the story?  Don’t feel pressured to buying something just because it seems like everyone else has it.  I have my own sense of style, and if it overlaps with other bloggers, great! But I shouldn’t try and force myself to adopt a style.

OK, now it is your turn to tell me what items you had major FOMO over.

3 thoughts on “Blogging Peer Pressure

  1. I agree with you about not falling for peer pressure! I try really hard to make sure I only buy trendy items that I 1) actually love and 2) work for my body/lifestyle/etc. It’s so easy to get caught up in needing to have the latest item but keep staying strong!

Leave a Reply

