Liebster Award

Liebster Award

This weekend I was surprised and thrilled to learn that I have been nominated for a Liebster Award by Anna from http://hellohandbag.blogspot.com/. It is so nice to think that this little blog of mine is appreciated by someone one. Thank you!

The Liebster award helps raise awareness of up-and-coming blogs.  The rules are:

– Nominees must answer the 11 questions provided by the nominator
– Choose 11 of your favourite blogs (with under 200 followers) to be nominated
– Make up 11 new questions for the bloggers
– Let the nominees know they have been tagged/nominated
– You cannot tag back or tag the same person
So here are the 11 questions Anna has asked me:
  • Why did you start your blog?

Like most other personal style bloggers I  started this blog as a creative outlet.  I used to sit and make lists of things I could wear to work.  At that time style blogs weren’t on my radar until I joined Pinterest.  After  a few month of reading other blogs I decided to try it out for myself. Only a few months ago did I remember that a few years ago I did try start a style/fashion blog, before I even knew such things existed, but I only did one post. I’ve always tried to get the most out of my clothes and I really enjoy seeing how many outfits I can make with the items I already own.

  • What’s the best book or article you’ve read recently?

I am currently reading The World Without End by Ken Follet. I am thoroughly enjoying it.

  • Handbag that you are currently coveting? (please add a link/photo!)

At the moment I would like a practical cognac coloured tote.  Nothing fancy.

Brown Leather  Bag - Heirloom Tote - Cognac Brown Vegetable Tanned Leather
Image from Etsy
  • Something you learned recently?

I am currently doing a mini-dissertation for my honours degree.  I’ve been reading up a lot on Marilyn Monroe as a part of my topic (random, I know!). I have learned many things about Monroe that I never knew, like the star suffered from endometriosis.

  • What makes your blog unique?

My blog is really just a record of the things I wear.  I try to use my items in as many ways as possible to get the most out of my wardrobe and hopefully I will give some one out there some inspiration to wear something they already own in a new way.

  • What’s your favorite item in your closet?

This is really a tough one.  I think I will have to say my red skinny jeans.  I just get so much wear out of them and they are so versatile!

  • What 3 blogs do you visit every day?

J’s Everyday Fashion

Putting Me Together

Kendi Everyday

  • What have you learned from writing your blog?

I have learned that ‘being stylish’ can be approached from so many angles, but by being myself and by wearing what I like, those are the outfits I like the most.

I’ve also learned that it is OK  to experiment. There is no such thing as the fashion police. No one is going to come lock you up for wearing that top, with those shoes!  It’ll all be fine, its just clothes!

But the main thing I’ve learned is that the items I have in my wardrobe already give me more outfits than I could ever wear.  All it needs is a bit of experimenting and some imagination.  When I add things to my wardrobe it increases my number of outfits phonemenaly.  Adding 5 items to your wardrobe doesn’t mean I have 5 more outfits. It is more along the lines of buying one item means I’ll have 30 more outfits…

  • What can you not leave the house without?

Sunscreen! I think I might be part vampire.  The sun and I don’t get along so well.

  • What blog post are you most proud of? (please link it here)

This is also a tough one. I am getting a lot of feedback on  one of my latest post – How to get more out of your work wear. I enjoy getting feedback and hearing from my readers, so I  am glad that I am getting more interaction from them because of this post.

  • What one tip would you give to new bloggers?

I’d say just have fun.  Your blog will eventually grow into its own and you will find a little niche and an audience of your own, don’t force it.  It is not a competition.

So my nominees for the Liebster Award (in no specific order) are:

  • Arum Lilea – Leanne is a sweet girl, with a lovely sense of style.
  • Life Etc –  I really relate to Corrine’s  sense of style. And we seem to be on the same study schedule, so it helps me not to feel too sorry for myself!
  • Shop and Twirl – Doesn’t Miranda have the loveliest hair?
  • The Joy of Fashion – This blog title is really perfect, because you can just sense the joy Marie puts into her outfits.  Her posts are always colourful and fun.
  • Meghan Silva– Meghan is absolutely passionate about blogging. She is full of great tips and advise.  Oh and her recipes are to die for!
  • My hartjie – This is a fun blog to read and I dig the fashion!
  • MyStylePallete – Shin has an amazing sense of colour and looks so adorable!
  • Embracing Style– A blog full of great personal style and street style.
  • Cover Up Chic – If you are looking for great work outfits, this is the blog to see!
  • Complete Disbelief – Get the scoop on all the latest beauty products.

My Questions for the nominees are:

1.) What is your favourite thing about blogging?

2.) How  do  balance blogging with work/school/life?

3.) How do you come up with new blog posts?

4.) What has helped your blog most along the way?

5.) How long have you been blogging?

6.) How does wear you live positively and negatively affect you ?

7.) Do your friends and family know about your blog?

8.) Which blogs are your favourite?

9.) How do you encourage reader interaction?

10.) How do you feel about  monetising your blog?

11.) If you could choose another topic or theme to blog about, what would it be? Do you have any other blogs?

7 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Thank you so much, Laura, for nominating me. 🙂 Very honoured to make it on your list. I will be sure to answer your questions and post them to my blog. Thanks again. 🙂

    p.s. Enjoyed learning more about you. 🙂

  2. I had to look up this post after your saying you’d done one before. So funny that we both referenced being vampires (albeit about different things)! It would seem the “rules” for this have changed over time as well : )

Leave a Reply

